Photography on a Budget: Trial and Error


Two days ago I tried to practice a technique to make pictures look like these:

This is NOT my photo

In order to do so, you must have Neutral Density Filter. But there’s types of Neutral Density. The common ones are the 3 stop, the 6 and the 10 aka “The Big Stopper.” I decided to get the Big Stopper to follow the instructions on a tutorial I was reading a couple of weeks earlier. Decided to give it a try and it just came out like this:

nd3

Pretty Awful! Even thought the Filter works, tried to tune the ISO to 100, and set the aperture to f/11 to f/16, it didn’t came out the way it should like the picture above. At least the water was a little bit creamy, but not enough to seem like mist. And yes, my camera longest shutting speed is 30 sec. and using 18-50mm lens. The location is near a river 10 miles away, which the plants in the front of the view were obstructing the rest of the river, but that was as close as I got to it. Until, I check more information regarding how to use Neutral Density Filters to make misty waters, I found this one from Gavin Hoey much simpler:

The thing is not everyone makes perfect from the first try, you have to practice it to master it. And it’s not only using filters but other techniques that takes practice, patience and a little bit of determination. I’m gonna keep on practicing and you should too!

 

 

